Self Driving Cars - Yes or No

Over the past few years there have been a flurry of OMG self-driving cars are going to be bad articles across the media landscape. I’ve been doing an informal survey for about 18 months by now.

“Are you willing to ride in a self driving car?”

The yes/no seems highly correlated with distance from Silicon Valley. I for one am wishing and a hoping for the day when I can get in the car and do important things like napping and binge watching Netflix. I’m pretty convinced that it would significantly change what my weekends look like. Get up at 3:30. Hop in the car. Go back to sleep. Wake up in Buffalo before lunch. Maybe with a properly designed interior, I’d just wash up, brush my teeth, put on jammies hop in the car. I suspect it will eventually completely change the landscape of under 500 mile transportation - probably in my lifetime.

I’m also hopeful the timing will be such that I avoid the fate faced by my father. His vision and motor skills have ruled out driving. He’s house bound unless one of the nearby family members comes over. With a self-driving car, we could have made him stop driving a decade earlier. Which would have been much safer for those around him. I have great expectations of giving up my license long before DMV would want to take it back.

My last prediction is that my grandchildren (yet unborn) will never learn to drive.

So back to the question - “Are you willing to ride in a self driving car?”

4 Likes

Sure, but I’d much rather a decent effort with bus/train/metro mass transit as a resource spend.

1 Like

I kinda like driving my sporty car (I’m in NJ) so… I’m ‘meh’ on this one. I do like the idea of hopping in a car and sleeping while it takes me somewhere 10+ hours away. That seems cool. But to use it on a daily basis (e.g. grocery store, commute to work, etc.) doesn’t seem like a general net win to me.