Is it fair to conclude that we will not be able to grow our way out deficits and debt?

One of the areas that doesn’t seem to change is the deficit and our growing national debt. The irony is that as bad as things were during Obama’s presidency things have actually even got worse during the first two years of Trump’s presidency:

https://abcnews.go.com/Politics/wireStory/government-report-us-budget-deficit-set-hit-897b-60675608

It would seem like unless there are really structural changes to Social Security, Medicare and Medicaid that deficits will never go away? What are your thoughts?

I would counter that its fair to conclude we cannot grow our way out of the mentality that Keystone Keynesians govern by: that bad times demand more spending and good times are an opportunity to spend more.

As for those programs, there is no delegated power for them and they should not exist at all.

FDR was the Cassius to the Republic but Mr No Repeal Eisenhower the Brutus.

I’m no proponent of Keynesian economics. There were some who argued that the debt grew under Obama because of his policies, well the deficits are even worse now than when Obama left office, and I am no fan of Obama. Clearly government spending is a huge problem but it would seem that is not likely going to be touched by either party.

Trickle down doesn’t work. It has never worked. Why we keep trying it is mind blowing.

Actually it was working.

Just think back in days of Clinton/Gingrich. Imagine if they were able to continue down there journey?

Think back what happen? They wanted to take on pharmaceutical and medicare waste/corruption.

NYSlime did wonderful investigation back around 98? And they found something like 22 percent of all medicare/medicaid spending to be wasteful or due to corruption.

But someone without mentioning any names decided to push Newt out.

1 Like

Show me. When has trickle down resulted in an expanded middle class? When has trickle down resulted in a steady increase in wages?