Advertisements and Donations

I noticed that there are some advertisements on the site? I thought that the goal was to keep this community ad free so that our speech doesn’t get restricted by the terms and conditions of advertisers. What’s going on?

I have them on my mobile as well. I haven’t checked on the desktop.

Is there any way I can make them go away? I’m new. Don’t care. I’ll pay. I just do not want to see ads.

1 Like

My guess is that donations have slacked off. I know that I haven’t donated since we moved over here. It’s not because I don’t appreciate the space, I just didn’t put it on my list of things to do. My sincerest apologies in that regard.

2 Likes

Sorry everyone, I am experimenting with deploying advertisements as per @Patriot. I’m still learning so bear with me on how this works.

I know no one on our side of things wants to actually deploy ads but y’all have decided to not donate even a penny in months. That’s fine, and no one is required to donate money to use the site; however, if people don’t want to donate then they are just going to have to deal with ads. It’s pretty simple. That’s just how the internet works now.

@Patriot is letting me figure out how to get these things fitting right on the site. It’s up to him if these ads stay on or not. If they do stay on, then they will be displayed on the header of the site, on the footer of the site, and there will be an ad on every 4th post of a thread.

3 Likes

I slacked too. My bad.

I’m happy to tell you that I’ve done my part to help your cause by clicking on the ■■■■■ lingerie ad

Ha! You know those ads are based on stuff you’ve been looking up and have been searching for right?

Here’s what I’ve been looking up lately:

Yep - we are setting up a few subscription and donation options that will remove the ads based on contribution level / type.

3 Likes