Have You Read 'Atlas Shrugged' by Ayn Rand?

I read the book when I was a teenager, and it impacted how I felt about things for many years. It impacted how I felt about work ethics. It influenced how I felt about the ways we distribute goods. I studied economics in college, and had a very strong capitalist bent, even though my favorite profs were all Marxists (LOL).

My sister is reading/listening to it now and she asked me what she should look/listen for.

I struggled to recall the details. But when she started to describe Dagney’s brother, and Hank Reardon’s wife - what I realized is how much of caricature she made nearly all of her players. They were either ALL good, or ALL bad. Probably a literary tool to get your point across, and it certainly DID get her point across, but after the benefit of 40 some years of life, I sure see life as many more shades of gray than I did back then.

How about you? Have you read it? When? How old were you? Did it make an impact on you?

2 Likes

I was an undergraduate Literature major and I would rather have been discovered harboring an illicit love for formalist, metrical verse than to have been discovered reading Atlas Shrugged. I never read the whole thing, finding the egotism off-putting, but also because I could not trust anything so badly written. The prose reads as if had been composed by a drunk with a jackhammer. I was reading Freud & Marx, who, even in translation, are very good writers of prose. I still use passages of Freud in my advanced ESL writing classes to show how brilliantly a paragraph can be composed. The fact that you can’t remember much of it suggests that it is not very memorable in the first place, in either style or content. My advice would be to give your sister Terry Eagleton’s Why Marx Was Right. It will perhaps help disinfect her mind.

I never read it and have never had a desire to read it either.